Core Cube Testimonials - OsteoPilates

Core Cube Testimonials

Complex Condition Made Simple

Thank you so much! I really love what you are doing with Scoliosis. As a physical therapist, this information is so valuable to me and my patients! You were also able to take (in my opinion) a complicated condition and make it understandable. I am very interested in your 4 curve scoliosis study with patterns of inhibition and facilitation, and then the fascial planes as well. Really appreciate all that you do!

Mary R ScolioPilates Book November 27, 2015

Huge Help!

Your book, Scolio Pilates, has been a huge help for me in working with a client that has a 65% thoracic curve. Thank You!

Cindy K November 27, 2015

Very Helpful

Thank you. Your book has been very helpful. I hope I will get the opportunity to do one of your training sessions.

Jeanne S November 27, 2015

Helps Me In My Work As A Physical Therapist

As a physical therapist who uses the Pilates method in the treatment of scoliosis and other spinal disorders, I must commend you on your book Scolio Pilates. It’s well organized, concise, and most importantly it helps me wrap my brain around this 3 dimensional condition that is often a lesson in mental gymnastics.

Thomas L November 27, 2015

K2 with prone elongation with Scolio Wedge

Thank You For Your Problem Solving Designs

Thanks so much for your problem solving designs and your innovative teaching!  The books, videos, workshops, and equipment have really helped so many clients in my practice already.

Gerolyn W Virginia November 27, 2015

Continuing Education for Pilates Instructors and Physical Therapists

Making A Difference!

Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge. I’m excited to apply what I’ve learned. It’s the kind of work that really makes me feel like I’m making a difference to other’s quality of life.

Joanne W Vancouver November 27, 2015

The Pilates Golf Athlete Workshop

Great Workshop

This is a great workshop to understand the reality , history and ways to help clients living with scoliosis. She is a great lady and has a very “hands on” approach.

Marie Josée T South Carolina November 27, 2015

Continuing Education for Pilates Instructors and Physical Therapists

I LOVED this Workshop!

I LOVED this workshop and would highly recommend it to other practitioners. I look forward to applying what I learned with my clients.

Anonymous Workshop Survey November 27, 2015

The Pilates Golf Athlete Workshop

Highly Recommend!

I would highly recommend. Clear, easy to utilize with clients.  Good presentation.

Anonymous Workshop Survey November 27, 2015

Continuing Education for Pilates Instructors and Physical Therapists

See You Again Soon!

Thank you so much for sharing with us.  We all really enjoyed it and you!!! I look forward to being able to bring you back again some time next year.

Anonymous Workshop Survey November 27, 2015

The Pilates Golf Athlete Workshop

Very Applicable To Patients

I so enjoyed your ScolioPilates class and have had opportunities to apply to patients in the physical therapy clinic!

Eltheia S California November 27, 2015

Continuing Education for Pilates Instructors and Physical Therapists

Brought ScolioPilates Book To Life

I just wanted to thank you so much for hosting/instructing this workshop. It really brought your book Scolio-Pilates to life for me. It was wonderful to have so many models and fellow Pilates instructors and Physical Therapists who were hungry to find out more about Scoliosis. Thank you too for giving me tips on how to approach my mom’s scoliosis/osteoporosis. She’ll be visiting in 3 weeks and I don’t feel so nervous about helping her. Again, thanks so much, looking forward to another workshop hopefully in the future.

Vicki K November 27, 2015

The Pilates Golf Athlete Workshop

My Pilates Is Now More Precise

Thanks again for everything and I am serious about talking with you about your mentorship program, if you consider me a worthy candidate. Working with your insight has totally changed the way I look myself at my bodies (those before me). My Pilates is now much more precise. I am so appreciative. Can’t wait to learn more!

Kathy B California November 27, 2015

Continuing Education for Pilates Instructors and Physical Therapists

Physical Therapists Should Attend

I am so glad that I attended your excellent seminar! I would sacrifice a Friday the 13th anytime!!  My hope is that you will continue with spreading your knowledge and experience globally and I wish you much success!! Hopefully, after some practice will continue on the Advanced or even repeat this course. I am encouraging my coworkers (other physical therapists) to take the course also.

Eltheia S California November 27, 2015

The Pilates Golf Athlete Workshop

I Support The Scolio-Pilates Mission

Thank you so much again for an awesome weekend of learning at Absolute Pilates. I so enjoyed the workshop and have a greater sense of confidence in my ability to properly apply corrections as well as modify Pilates exercises for my clients with Scoliosis. I look forward to supporting your mission of making Scolio-Pilates available to anyone who lives with scoliosis and gain credibility with the medical industry in your valuable contributions to patient wellness.

Cathy F South Carolina November 27, 2015

Continuing Education for Pilates Instructors and Physical Therapists

Life Changing. Pain Relieving

Your workshop was life changing for me.  I’m stunned at how much better my back feels already and I don’t know what I’m doing yet!  But really, your kindness and understanding of how it feels to have scoliosis was the best part.  This is the first time I felt like someone really “got it” AND could help.  I can’t thank you enough for that.

Nancy B New York November 27, 2015

The Pilates Golf Athlete Workshop

Our Bodies Do Heal!

I am even more convinced after meeting you and experiencing your training this past weekend, that most times, healing is a simple matter. Pain can help guide how we approach wellness, and that our bodies do heal.Thank you for your inspiration. Thank you for your patience. Thank you for helping in my journey to understand connections. And especially, Thank you (and John) for your open and caring commitment.

Gerolyn W Virginia November 27, 2015

Continuing Education for Pilates Instructors and Physical Therapists

Inspired

I was very inspired by your workshop and look forward to attending future workshops with you.  Thank you helping us grow in our pilates practice.

Jennifer R California November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Online Sessions Give Me Confidence

Thanks for the session today. It gives me the confidence to move ahead in a speedier fashion with my clients.

Joanne W Vancouver November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Better Results With Online Sessions

This session now gives me the confidence to work with these clients in a more confident manner and have even better results.

Susanne B Alaska November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Weekly Online Sessions A Huge Success

Karena, I’m so impressed with our one hour weekly online sessions. It gives my daughter time to review and even learn new exercises. It’s been a huge success and my daughter loves seeing you via Skype and working with you weekly. Thank you for giving us the tools for a successful home program.

Rebecca D Kansas November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Great Online Session

Thank you for a great online session. Here’s to more awareness and a stronger back.

Samantha T New Mexico November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Impressed With Online Instruction

After a 4 day intensive with Karena, my 11 year old daughter has been doing successful weekly SKYPE sessions. I am so impressed with the online instruction and what a difference it has made for my daughter. I’ve seen an increase in her confidence and excitement to see Karena weekly. She is able to  confide in Karena about changes in her curve and share new stories with her. She wears a brace 15-18 hours a day, dedicates 40 minutes per day to her exercises, and has weekly one hour sessions. I truly believe Karena inspires her!!!

Rebecca D Kansas November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Great Notes!

THANK YOU sooo much for the great notes for wedging, etc.  HUGE help! I’m SOOO excited to let you know that I’m holding strong and the exercises you’ve set up for me are GREAT!   wooohooo!!!!!

Jennifer B Ecuador November 27, 2015

Gus T. Basset Hound

I can’t express how much [daughter] and I enjoyed working with you and Gus T.!!!  That was brilliant bringing him with you.  Thank you!

Anonymous from Survey November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Knowledgeable and Caring

She is extremely knowledgeable but explained things very simply so that I understood what she was saying.  She is also very caring.  It was quite obvious that she was very concerned with helping me.  And the whole experience was a lot of fun.

Gene S Illinois November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Engineers Need Measurable Results

Being an engineer, I think that we really know nothing about a subject unless we can measure it.  So before I left for the trip to see Karena my daughter carefully marked my height on a piece of paper taped to the wall and also I measured the time it took for me to feel a pain level of 8 while standing unsupported. It took 30 seconds.When I returned from the trip, I measured two inches taller and was able to stand for 1 minute and 49 seconds before I reached a pain level of 8. Now, continuing the home exercise program on my own, I can stand for almost 5 minutes.

Gene S November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Measurable Results

I was diagnosed with Scoliosis in February 2009.  It is a progressive disease and has continued to get worse.  I now have to use a cane or walker when I walk or stand.  I tried physical therapy and acupuncture hoping to stop the pain and progression.  Neither of them helped.  My acupuncturist suggested I take Pilates lessons to strengthen my core.  I did and that seemed to help.  My Pilates instructor [in Illinois] told me about Karena.  I looked her up on the Internet and was quite impressed.  I am in very good health otherwise but this scoliosis is ruining my life so I decided to visit Karena to learn how to apply her experience to my Pilates program.  I live in Illinois so I flew out to California to get ScolioPilates lessons from Karena.  I spent the first three day having one hour lessons and then, the lessons were showing so much progress, I increased them to two hour lessons the last two days. Being an engineer, I think that we really know nothing about a subject unless we can measure it.  So before I left for the trip to see Karena my daughter carefully marked my height on a piece of paper taped to the wall and also I measured the time it took for me to feel a pain level of 8 while standing unsupported. It took 30 seconds.When I returned from the trip, I measured two inches taller and was able to stand for 1 minute and 49 seconds before I reached a pain level of 8. Now, continuing on my own with a home exercise program that Karena set up for me, I am up to almost 5 minutes.

November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

My Doctor-Husband Is Very Pleased

A year ago last September I was a volunteer Scolio-Pilates “model” at a three day seminar you held in Las Vegas, it was life changing for me. A week after the class, I googled Scoliosis Pilates Las Vegas and found one of the instructors who had attended. We connected and I’ve been his student ever since.. Troy Towns is a devoted follower of your training. He had told me you showed him an entirely new way of working with scoliosis clients. I am 67 with a 52 degree S curve (I actually brought my x-ray to the class and showed you). I can’t tell you how grateful I am to you and your incredible teachings. My husband is a pain management physician. He can’t get over how little I complain and how much better I feel..He, too, is grateful for Troy! I only wish you had someone in Minneapolis following your lead. I spend summers there and no one has a clue what Scolio-Pilates is!! I count the weeks until I get back to Las Vegas and can resume class with Troy. Thank you and God bless you…

Nancy G Nevada November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Confidence and Determination!

My 11-year-old daughter and I visited Karena from the Midwest. We went for a four day intensive and left with so much knowledge about my daughters curve. Not only did we learn great things…Karena put together a very manageable program to continue at home. She left California with great posture, confidence, and determination!

Rebecca D Kansas November 27, 2015

Muscle Imbalances and Scoliosis

Beautiful Work!

Thank YOU so much, Karena, for your beautiful work. Looking forward to the videos -and to continue our work together soon.

Anonymous Switzerland November 27, 2015

Helping My Quality Of Life

I do love your products. They are really helping my quality of life! Thank you so much!

Jill D Florida November 27, 2015

Cube Is Great In My Bodywork Studio

In my busy therapeutic bodywork and movement studio, I am always seeking to create unique movement experiences.  Your Core Cube creates surprising challenges for clients!  The Cube used in the supine supported vertical spine position, is great for strengthening the torso. AND I have had great results using the Cube as an aid for positioning massage/bodywork clients on my treatment table. Clients just lay face up, supported head through tailbone. This position in gravity opens up the client’s entire front line.  It is just perfect for release of the rotator cuff muscles! My clients use the Core Cube as part of ongoing homework to reinforce proper motor- patterns, core strength, and as well as gentle chest and hip flexor release. I use the Core Cube to release my own tight shoulder/neck complex and have ended a longstanding bout with numbness in my hands from my work. I have shared this with other folks who sit at desks all day and with other bodywork therapists.  They have had similar results.

Gerolyn W Virginia November 27, 2015

Connect To Your Inner Core

The Core Cube is proving useful and well appreciated by clients especially those with more fascial restrictions as it helps the body to ease into it although it does not provide long lasting fascia release as only the human hands can provide the energy field necessary for that. It helps and challenges every client and fun to use on the reformer as an extra stability challenge. Very popular with children too. You know after teaching pilates for nearly 30 years it is another tool to add freshness and softness that is necessary. It makes you connect with your inner core better in a less aggressive way simply by the nature of the foam. Not too soft but yet not too hard as not to push you back.

Veronique C United Kingdom November 27, 2015

I’d Love To Be A Part Of Your Veterans Project

Thank you dear Karena for sharing this with me! [on the blog, “What have you done to deserve your legs today?]. I think you are amazing and would love to be a part of your Veterans Project- what brilliant, tender and rewarding work. It is something So worth looking up in my neck of the woods too. They are amazing humble souls. I just hope I have earned my legs for this life time. Something to take a minute of my day to seriously consider.

Julie S Paris November 27, 2015

Heart And Soul

I know you’ve put your heart and soul into helping these soldiers and that is just awesome!

Diane P California November 27, 2015

Thank You For What You Do

Karena, that made me tear up. Thanks for who you are and for what you do! [Link to Blog]

Sheri W Texas November 27, 2015

Heartfelt

That was a very heartfelt letter that you sent out today and it really pulls on your heartstrings having a son that’s 26 years old. It must be very rewarding to be able to help in a small way for a person who is truly given the greatest gift to us as a country. I do believe that the price of freedom is more valuable than any Dollar amount that we could ever conceive. The soldiers know that freedom is worth everything to them even their lives. I am grateful every day that men and women dedicate their careers to our Armed Forces. Thanks for sharing your beautiful story.

Dianne A Florida November 27, 2015

I Served As A Navy Nurse

Thanks for the blog, I too served as a Navy Nurse & did not go to war, but sent my corpsmen and  younger Navy Nurses to the first gulf war from Camp Pendelton. But the injuries from the more recent conflicts are more severe and no one truly understands the mental anguish of post-traumatic stress! So thank you for volunteering! I am no longer volunteering due to health reasons so I am grateful to you for your service! As the VA health Care System is woefully lacking in so manyand makes so many mistakes! So I am grateful to you for your service in Honoring those who served and have given so much and just want to live their lives!

Linda M November 27, 2015

You Are Earning Your Legs

Great, Karena. Keep doing your amazing work! You are definitely earning your legs.

Chris T California November 27, 2015

OsteoPilates, The Book, by Karena Thek

Exercises Are Well Explained

I feel so fortunate to have the information from your book to put to use.  It is easy to read and the exercises are well explained and since I am visual, I love that photos are included.

Susan S November 27, 2015

Pelvic Precision Wedge in Vinyl with Karena Thek

Don’t Tuck!

Very Cool!  So many clients are coming to me from [Instructors} wanting them to “TUCK” I hate that word… But, I think this is a perfect solution!

Judy F Pennsylvania November 27, 2015

Pelvic Precision Wedge in Vinyl with Karena Thek

Can’t Wait To Teach With These

I am a Pilates teacher and I am so grateful for your pelvic wedge!!  I can’t wait to teach classes with these. I have been manipulating slo-mo balls, mats and cushions to get just the right fit that you have designed.  I am so thankful for you!!!  So wonderful!  Has really worked well for everyone.  My athletes who are really tight I have the biggest challenge getting them to release all that tension.

Dawn C Arizona November 27, 2015

Pelvic Precision Wedge in Vinyl with Karena Thek

Pelvic Wedge Is A Big Hit!

I have used the pelvic wedge with several of my clients and it is a hit! The wedge provided immediate relief of low back pain and stability so my clients could continue to exercise.

Suzanne K Virginia November 27, 2015

Pelvic Precision Wedge in Vinyl with Karena Thek

Love It!

I love it!!! [the Pelvic Precision Wedge]

Cathy B Texas November 27, 2015

Pelvic Precision Wedge in Vinyl with Karena Thek

A Little Wedge Goes A Long Way

Thank-you– The ones [pelvic precision wedges] I got at the workshop in Vegas have been a HUGE hit. I can’t believe what a little wedge has done to help my clients with lumbar/sacral issues… much better than folding towels.

Jeanine Y Nevada November 27, 2015

Pilates Pillows for Scolio-Pilates and More! with Karena Thek

I’m Excited!

Thanks Karena! I’m so excited to get everything. Thanks for what you have done and helping make the industry a little bit better!!!

Dawn C Arizona November 27, 2015

My Clients Are Excited About The Scolio-Wedges

I have already got 4 of my students excited about doing the correctional work – as I worked with them this week with my own wedges. All 4 of them couldn’t believe how different and great they felt after doing just the breath work alone. They are so excited about having their own wedges and practicing at home on their own. So, I would like to be able to give them their wedges next week if at all possible (also, I need to get my wedges back from those I lent mine to!).

Kathy B California November 27, 2015

Referred My Clients To Buy Their Own

I have referred my clients to buy their own [Scolio-Wedges] just to rest on, as it has helped so many people already!!  Love, love, love your product!!!  Thank you!

Dawn C Arizona November 27, 2015

Webinars with Karena Thek

Webinar Was Great

I look forward to learning lots from the webinar!  I just watched the 2nd one and thought it was great  – thanks for your wonderful efforts to help so many people.

Richard B November 27, 2015

Webinars with Karena Thek

You’re On To Something Here

Your webinars have been really helpful to me.  I’ve shared them with two Phyiscal Therapists.  For me, as a 66 year old woman with scoliosis, I’m looking for pain relief and a better understanding of where and how the muscles get stretched ~ or not.  You are really on to something here and, from what I can see, unique in what you are offering.  I hope you have continued success.

Joni R November 27, 2015

Seated Corrections for Scoliosis with Karena Thek

YouTube Videos Are Great

I bumped into the Scolio-Pilates exercises through a search on YouTube and I find them of wonderful help for my scoliosis. I am trained in Schroth exersices but I just always found them very boring and I couldn´t motivate myself to do them. All I want to say is: your work is great! Thank you!

Linda F November 27, 2015

RAVE Reviews From Clients

The K2 is getting RAVE reviews from all my clients who try it! I’m sold out again. Can you send more ASAP? I just had to sell my own K2 to my last client.

Gwen M California November 27, 2015

K2 For Spine Decompression

Your new K2 Wedge allows for supported back extension and creates feedback for the client activation of the deep muscles, especially the transverse abdominals. K2 allows clients to get decompression of the spine in a very gentle way, not unlike hanging upside down on an inversion table.  Design advantages of K2 wedge enable space between the vertebrae, with a neutral pelvic posture, without the blood rushing to the client’s head!

Gerolyn W Virginia November 27, 2015

K2 Therapeutic Wedge for Back Pain

K2 For Safe/Comfortable Elongation

I have found the K2 to be extremely effective for elongation.  This is a wonderful new tool, especially for those that cannot use other forms of elongation such as hanging or inversion.  It is very gentle as it does not require any weight to be placed on the shoulders, and is easy to use.  I have found that it is effective for all populations, including those with healing shoulders, hypermobility, or osteoporosis.  The amount of shoulder strength required to hang from the hands often makes hanging challenging to hold long enough to get results.  In addition, my clients have told me that they feel more elongation in the Thoracic spine that the Lumbar spine while hanging, while the K2 addresses all areas of the spine.  Inversion tables are great, however I have also found that getting in and out of them can be challenging, and even harmful, while getting on and off the K2 is very simple. The danger of other forms of elongation for the hypermobile client is that they can easily overstretch, and the K2 provides a safe and comfortable environment to elongate the spine. In addition to its uses for elongation, it is also useful for semi-recumbent work, either prone or side-lying, for pregnant clients, providing a firm yet comfortable support.

Every client I have has tried the K2, and all have found it to be comfortable, even an instant relief in many cases.  This is a go-to piece of equipment that has made the task of finding a comfortable and accessible elongation for my clients easy!

Gwen M California November 27, 2015

default image

You Are An Innovator

Karena, You are inspiring and clearly an innovator. Thanks for your contribution to our industry, you are making a difference !!

Risa M Vancouver December 1, 2015

default image

Love Karena’s experience

I love how Karena shares her experiences which explains and incorporates the theories

Anonymous Survey Jakarta, Indonesia March 28, 2017

default image

Confidence!

I have more confidence now in working with scoliotic clientes. I better understand the purpose and benefit of specific exercises.

Anonymous Survey Jakarta, Indonesia March 28, 2017

default image

Lots of information and explanation

The information and the explanation of all work is fantastic. As is having so many models to work with. Thank you, Models!

Anonymous Survey Houston, Texas March 28, 2017

default image

Still Walking On Clouds

Hi Karena,

I would like to thank you for a wonderful workshop in Den Haag!

Your work is so innovative and original.

You are truly a unique  combination of scientist and artist in one person.

Your way of teaching and leading the group was so inspiring. Fully present in each moment with both kindness and humor. (Mia and I were even more impressed when we looked up the time difference between California and Holland).

I am so grateful to you for making me almost pain free in one session.

It still works!!!

What is complicated to understand my body got immediately.

Take the best care of yourself!

Kristina 

Who is still walking on clouds 🙂

Kristina M.O. Stockholm, Sweden June 10, 2017

default image

And the degenerated hip feels better

Soooo glad I did your workshop!

Becoming obsessed 😉 i’m watching my body when walking, standing, moving, sleeping, correcting like 1 million times a day i feel all these subtle and less subtle changes in my body, less pain 🙂 a tiny bit more movement in the thoracic. And the degenerated hip feels better. Me happy puppy!

Loving your book. It’s very clear, practical en written w/ humor.

Linda W Amsterdam, The Netherlands June 10, 2017

google6c7db57063a049fe.html